HEO Announces Update to Program Reset for High Performance 'AAA' Hockey, News (HEO ‘AAA’ Hockey League)

News Article
News Article Image
Dec 24, 2022 | Lucas Cacciotti | 689 views
HEO Announces Update to Program Reset for High Performance 'AAA' Hockey
HEO Board of Directors is pleased to announce the following program construct for the 2023-24 season.
Category Team Operators
U18AAA CCHL — six teams (three east, three west)**
U16AAA Cyclones/Titans/Wild/Myers/Jr67s
U15AAA Cyclones/Titans/Wild/Myers/Jr67s
U14AAA Cyclones/Titans/Wild/Myers/Jr67s
U13AAA Cyclones/Titans/Wild/Myers/Jr67s
U12AAA Cyclones/Titans/Wild/Myers/Jr67s
** Specific team operators will be selected by the HEO AAA Board of Governors.

Consistent with its goals of a unified minor hockey AAA program based on Hockey Canada’s AAA Gold Medal Pathways, HEO has developed new program standards for all of its AAA operators to follow. These standards include mandatory participation in the Gold Medal Pathways, position-specific skills development, the use of game analysis software, AAA tournament requirements, mandated player progress discussions, and a high level of operator financial transparency and accountability. A new feature is the creation of a HEO AAA Technical Director position, whose responsibility it will be to ensure program standards are upheld across the Branch, to provide impartiality in coach and player selection where conflicts of interest exist, and to oversee general competitiveness in team formation.

You can find the full details at http://www.hockeyeasternontario.ca/docs/HEO%20AAA%20Announcement.pdf regarding the Program Reset which will take effect the upcoming 2023-24 season.

The HEO 'AAA' Hockey League has responded to the Program Reset update.

"The league and its membership understands the deliverables, and are ready to work collaboratively with HEO, the five Zone Chairs, and the CCHL on providing the best possible product for its membership within high-performance hockey in the branch, from U12 to U18." - Lucas Cacciotti, President, HEO 'AAA' Hockey League.